The Center for Respiratory Medicine is based at the Respiratory Research Unit, Bispebjerg Hospital and the Center is coordinated by Professor Vibeke Backer. The Center also consists of the departments of respiratory medicine at Hvidovre Hospital, Naestved Sygehus, Odense University Hospital, Aarhus University Hospital and the Respiratory Research Unit, Aalborg University Hospital.

The six departments of the Center for Respiratory Medicine are all highly experienced in the field of clinical research and are well-prepared to conduct early phase clinical trials within respiratory medicine. The doctors, nurses, laboratory technicians and pharmacists are all trained to state-of-the-art standards and the national collaboration ensures a uniform high quality in the execution of clinical studies across the different participating units.

The individual departments are placed strategically across Denmark to cover the majority of patients with respiratory challenges. In addition, all center members are part of the Danish Respiratory Research Network (DRRN), which facilitates late stage clinical trials among 20+ clinical units in Denmark.

The Center for Respiratory Medicine will establish a national database of patients with respiratory diseases with specific patient characteristics, initially focusing on patients with asthma, COPD and fibrosis. The database will become an effective tool of patient recruitment for clinical trials.


Medical Lead, Professor Vibeke Backer
Respiratory Research Unit , Bispebjerg Hospital


NEXT Center Coordinator Camilla Hauge

Phone: +45 24 98 16 76

Below is an overview of ongoing clinical trials.