NEXT is a partnership between public and private partners. In October 2014, NEXT was founded by Denmark’s regions, universities, the pharmaceutical companies LEO Pharma, MSD, Novo Nordisk, Novartis and the GTS institute Bioneer after a grant from the Innovation Fund Denmark.

With the expansion of NEXT in 2016, and a new grant from the Innovation Fund Denmark, seven new companies joined: AstraZeneca, Boehringer Ingelheim, Pcovery, RSPR Pharma, Serendex, Statens Serum Institut and Symphogen. 7 February 2017 NEXT extended by three companies as associated partners: Celgene, Bristol-Myers Squibb and Sanofi.